This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

Close cookie details

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav

Girl, 15: Charming But Insane

Cover of Girl, 15: Charming But Insane

Girl, 15: Charming But Insane

Girl, 15 Series, Book 1
by Sue Limb
Borrow Borrow
Fans of The Princess Diaries and Louise Rennison's Georgia Nicolson series will adore Jess Jordan and completely relate to her "slightly insane" take on high school life.Life was tragic enough before...More
Fans of The Princess Diaries and Louise Rennison's Georgia Nicolson series will adore Jess Jordan and completely relate to her "slightly insane" take on high school life.Life was tragic enough before...More
Available formats-
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
  • OverDrive WMA Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Reading Level:
    7 - 12

Recommended for you


 
Description-
  • Fans of The Princess Diaries and Louise Rennison's Georgia Nicolson series will adore Jess Jordan and completely relate to her "slightly insane" take on high school life.

    Life was tragic enough before this spring started. With a distinct lack of boobage and an arse so big that birds of prey could nest within its shadows, Jess Jordan is saddled with the Goddess Flora for a best friend, a Britney Spears look-alike so gorgeous that one grain of her divine dandruff could make the blind see again. Jess knows that her soul mate is Ben Jones, a divine mixture of Leonardo DiCaprio, Prince William, and Brad Pitt who oozes mystery and charisma. But the campaign to get Ben to notice her brings on a cavalcade of mortification and disaster, including, but not limited to, a minestrone soup explosion that takes place in her bra and a school wide viewing of a videotape that features a topless Jess referring to her breasts as "Bonnie" and "Clyde."

    Meanwhile, Jess’s death-obsessed Granny moves into her bedroom, along with her grandfather’s remains; her hypochondriac dad, who sends her daily "horrorscopes" like "You will fall asleep with your mouth open, and a family of earwigs will move in," acts strange about Jess staying with him this summer; and her longtime friend Fred, a television violence addict and closet thumbsucker, has decided that he can’t stand being around her. Jess is determined to make things right...but with her offbeat sense of humor and her wildly active imagination, things get complicated along the way.

 
Awards-
Reviews-
  • AudioFile Magazine Jess feels she lives in the shadow of her best friend, the gorgeous, smart, and so very kind, Flora--a typical case of teen angst, to be sure. Katherine Kellgren perfectly captures the essence of an off-beat character and her somewhat stereotypical friends in this blithely British tale. Kellgren is the voice of youth in the telling of Jess's life story, 15 years of frustration caused by an absent dad, a mother with a new life, and a bad case of lust for the best-looking boy in her class, mega-handsome Ben Jones. In this first-person narrative, Kellgren pulls out all the stops as she takes on the persona of Jess and her friends with vitality and flair. D.P.M. (c) AudioFile 2005, Portland, Maine
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Listening Library
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:
  • OverDrive WMA Audiobook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.
    OverDrive WMA Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Not permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted (6 times)
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Bookshelf to manage your titles.

×

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Bookshelf?

×

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are permitted to recommend at this time.

×

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

×
×

×

To recommend Girl, 15: Charming But Insane, complete the following information:

*indicates required information

(comma separates multiple email addresses, i.e. bob@aol.com, bob@hotmail.com)

Subject: Check out this downloadable title at the IndyPL's Downloadable Collection


We respect your privacy. Any and all information collected at this site will be kept strictly confidential and will not be sold, reused, rented, loaned, or otherwise disclosed.

×
Recommend this title to the library to be added to the Digital Collection
Girl, 15: Charming But Insane
Girl, 15: Charming But Insane
Girl, 15 Series, Book 1
Sue Limb
×
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Girl, 15: Charming But Insane
Girl, 15: Charming But Insane
Girl, 15 Series, Book 1
Sue Limb
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
×
×

To recommend '', complete the following information:

*indicates required information

(comma separates multiple email addresses, i.e. bob@aol.com, bob@hotmail.com)

Subject: Check out this downloadable title at the IndyPL's Downloadable Collection

We respect your privacy. Any and all information collected at this site will be kept strictly confidential and will not be sold, reused, rented, loaned, or otherwise disclosed.

×